Areas of Research

The major areas of research are Structural Dynamics, Soil Dynamics, Seismology and Seismotectonics, and Earthquake Instrumentation.

Major Facilities

Strong Motion Instrumentation Network
The Department has installed about 200 strong motion accelerographs (analog and digital) and about 350 structural response recorders at different places, mostly covering severe seismic zones of the country. These instruments which are maintained and operated by the Department have yielded several strong motion records of different earthquakes. About 30 more digital accelerographs will be added to the network in the near future. Through the funding from World Bank, Department has procured sensors and strong motion recorders for instrumenting about ten multistoreyed buildings in peninsular India. The work on instrumenting the buildings is likely to be completed by June,`98.

Telemetered Local Seismological Network
A telemetered local seismological network comprising of seven outstations radio linked to a central recording station located at New Tehri Town, has been deployed in the Garhwal Lesser Himalaya since September 1993. The systematic long-term seismological data being collected through the operation of this network will halp in studying the pattern of local seismicity.

Soil Dynamics Laboratory
The Department has a soil dynamics laboratory geared to undertake both in-site as well as laboratory testing programmes. It has a dynamic triaxial apparatus for conducting both stress and strain controlled tests on soil samples. A cross borehole equipment for obtaining shear wave profiles upto a depth of 60 metres is also available.